Governing Council & Committees

Governing Council’s members come from all areas of the province and reflect the wide range of clinical and non-clinical practices within the perinatal, neonatal and paediatric healthcare sector.

Governing Council Membership

Bruce Squires (Chair)
President of McMaster Children’s Hospital (MCH) and Vice President of Women’s & Children’s Health at Hamilton Health Sciences (HHS)

Jennifer Churchill
CEO, Empowered Kids Ontario

Ronald Cohn
President & CEO, Hospital for Sick Children

Eyal Cohen
Staff Physician, Program Head & Associate Scientist, Hospital for Sick Children

Marilyn Crabtree
Family Physician, Winchester and District Memorial Hospital

Sanober Diaz
Executive Director, PCMCH

Crystal Edwards
Director Women & Children's Program, Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre

'Remi Ejiwunmi
Registered Midwife, Midwives of Mississauga/Trillium Health Partners

Anna Greenberg
Chief Regional Officer, Toronto and East Regions, Ontario Health

Astrid Guttmann
Paediatrician and Chief Science Officer, Hospital for Sick Children and Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences

Julia Hanigsberg
President & CEO, Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital

Jackie Hubbert
Executive Director, Critical Care Services, Acute Care Transport and the Labatt Family Heart Centre, Hospital for Sick Children

Bernard Lawless
Provincial Lead, Critical Care Services Ontario

Judy Linton
Chief Nursing Executive & Clinical Institutes and Quality Programs Executive, Ontario Health

Cynthia Maxwell
Vice President, Medical Affairs & System Transformation and Lead Medical Executive
Women's College Hospital; Professor, University of Toronto

Alex Munter
President & CEO, Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Sean Murray
Medical Director/Chief Family and Child Program, Health Sciences North

Stephanie Redpath
Neonatologist; Medical Director of Transport Team, Children’s Hospital for Eastern Ontario

Paul Roumeliotis
Medical Officer of Health and Chief Executive Officer, Eastern Ontario Health Unit

Prakesh Shah
Interim Chief, Department of Paediatrics, Mt. Sinai; Director, Canadian Neonatal Network

Alicia St. Hill 
Director and Manager, Prenatal Screening Ontario, BORN Ontario

Nash Syed
President, Children’s Hospital London Health Sciences Centre

Ru Taggar
Executive Vice President, Chief Health Professions and Nursing Executive, Sunnybrook

Kristin Taylor
Director - Provincial Programs Branch, Ministry of Health

Ziyaad Vahed
Director - Child Development and Specialized Services Branch,
Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services


The Governing Council has four standing committees:

  • Executive Committee, which addresses priority or time-sensitive issues arising between Governing Council meetings
  • Maternal-Newborn Committee
  • Child and Youth Committee
  • Transport Committee

All committees share the common goal of developing a well-coordinated provincial system of perinatal, newborn, child and youth health that can deliver timely, equitable, accessible, high-quality, evidence-based and family-centred care.

Governing Council appoints members to these committees and oversees committee activities. Committees may set up sub-committees, advisory groups, task forces and/or expert panels, as needed, to assist in carrying out their functions.